Academic honors announced

Chad Frey

Treble Clef scholarships awarded

The Newton Treble Clef Club has awarded scholarships to two Newton High School graduates who are planning to major in music in college.

They are Joey Gile, son of Kent and Wendy Gile, who will attend Wichita State and major in saxophone; and Eli Regier, son of Ken and Amy Regier, who will attend Bethel College and major in saxophone and voice.

Additional scholarships from previous years are renewed by Blake Crawford, Daniel Buller, Seth Bontrager, Douglas Ragon, Aubrie Nichols, Diana Unruh and Ben Peyton.

Funds for these scholarships come from a private endowment and the Treble Clef Vespers.

Senn awarded national FFA scholarships

MANHATTAN — The National FFA Foundation awarded scholarships to members across the state of Kansas.

FFA members were recognized for scholarship awards at the virtual 92nd Kansas FFA Convention held May 27-29.

Annika Senn, of Newton, was awarded a scholarship during the program.

The National Foundation offers approximately $2.7 million, donated by numerous sponsors, to FFA members across the nation every year. The awards range from $1,000 to $5,000 to assist with their education at a two-year or four-year institution. Award determination is based on a student’s qualifications including academic achievement, leadership, Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE), FFA involvement or financial need.

The Kansas FFA Association is a statewide organization of 9,631 agricultural education students in 211 chapters in every corner of Kansas. It is part of the National FFA Organization, a national youth organization of 700,170 student members preparing for leadership and careers in the science, business and technology of agriculture with 8,612 chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Schmidt, Ladd awarded scholarship

The Kansas Independent College Foundation, on behalf of its 20 member institutions, recently announced the 2020 Maud Wyatt Recognition Scholarship Recipients. KICF awards up to 20 individual scholarships, for a student at each Foundation member institution.

Abby Schmidt, a business administration major and a resident of Newton, was awarded a scholarship as a student at Bethel College.

Natalie Ladd, a social work major and native of Hesston, was awarded a scholarship as a student at Hesston College.

The recipients are all full-time, degree-seeking students on the cusp of graduation, and have each demonstrated excellence in academics, character and integrity, and a commitment to the value of a private college education in Kansas. These students maintain GPAs of 3.5 or above while contributing to their respective communities.

The scholarship was established in 1995 through a gift by the Maud Wyatt, whose bequest has supported the work of KICF and its institutions since 1961. The Kansas Independent College Foundation seeks to develop, promote and direct unified approaches to selected corporations, foundations and individuals for financial support of Kansas’ independent colleges and universities. Details, including the winners’ GPAs, can be found at

Local Hesston College students recognized for academic achievements

HESSTON — The Hesston College community celebrated the academic accomplishments of 122 graduates in a virtual commencement ceremony May 23.

Graduates earning bachelor of science in nursing degrees were:

• Samuel Blosser, Hesston

• Lauren Clark, Sedgwick

• Lora Ferguson, Hesston

• Kennedy Teach, Hesston

• Jennifer Decker, Newton

• Kristi Hill, Newton

• Carissa Slabach, Newton

Graduates earning associate of arts degrees:

• Tanner DeGrado, Newton

• Esmi Hernandez, Newton

• Reese Nebel, Hesston

Graduates earning associate of applied arts and sciences degrees:

• Adrian Rogers, Newton

The registrar’s office also announced the names of full-time students whose spring 2020 semester grades earned them a place on the Dean’s List (3.90 to 4.00) and Honor Roll (3.50 to 3.89).

Students named to the Dean’s List include:

• Keiara Evancho, Newton

• Olivia Hernandez, Hesston

• Natalie Ladd, Hesston

• Reese Nebel, Hesston

• Hannah Wolfenberger, Newton

Students named to the Honor Roll include:

• Brittany Buller, Moundridge

• Erin Peters, Hesston

• Katie Thrasher, Hesston