General election ballot set

Chad Frey
Voters went to the polls Tuesday for a primary election, selecting candidates to appear on the general election ballot in November.

Following Tuesday’s primary election, Don Schroeder of Hesston will return to an elected position. The former Kansas House representative will become a county commissioner.

Schroeder won a three-way race in the primary for the Harvey County Commission District 3 nomination. He will be unopposed in the general election.

The commission seat will be vacated by Ron Krehbiel of Burrton, who announced his retirement from the board after 20 years on the commission earlier this year.

“It feels good. It was a lot of work to do. I am not afraid of that,” Schroeder said. “It will be big shoes to fill, and I have known him for a long time. I will do my best.”

Schroeder served about 10 years in the Kansas Legislature before losing a primary election in 2018 to Stephen Owens (R-Hesston). Schroeder has also served on a school board and the McPherson County Commission.

Of note are write-ins for the Harvey County Commission District 2, where there were write-in votes to tabulate. Democrat Christy Schunn received 684 of 706 write-in votes, exceeding the amount needed to achieve the Democratic nomination. Schunn ran a write-in campaign in an attempt to appear on the ballot to face incumbent Randy Hague in the November general election. Schunn needed about 400 write-ins to appear on the November ballot.

In another hotly contested local race, political newcomer Avery Anderson (R-Newton) pulled 38.01% of the vote to take a lead over Newton City Commissioner Kathy Valentine, R-Newton, 523-487, in the Kansas House District 72 race. Also in that race were Lance Gormley (193, or 14%) and Dwight McAdow (173, or 12.57%). Anderson will face incumbent Tim Hodge, D-North Newton, for the seat in the November general election.

For federal seats, Harvey County mirrored the state in the Republican U.S. Senate race, giving U.S. Rep. Roger Marshall the win over Kris Kobach. The race saw 11 candidates vying for the nomination. Kansas Sen. Barbara Bollier won the Democratic nomination.

There were 4,073 ballots cast during the primary election out of 22,882 registered voters.