WICHITA — Bethel College sports information director Josh Booth was named the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Sports Information Director of the Year for the 2018-19 school year.

Booth will be formally honored at the KCAC Sports Management Conference Aug. 6 at Avila University in Kansas City, Mo.

Booth became Bethel’s first sports information director in 2016 and “has been the primarty media contact, statistician, and historian for the Threshers' 15 sports.”

He has earned top-10 finishes in the NAIA-Sports Information Directors Association competitions in Most Twitter Followers Gained, Most Instagram Followers Gained and Website Rating. He also won the 2018 Digital Media Contest for Most Facebook Likes Gained.

His duties on campus include “game day setup and takedown, athletics student-workers pay traction, updating the website, live gameday stats, livestream of all home games, social media updates, PA announcing, submitting all student-athletes awards at the conference and national levels, and coordinating the end of the year Threshpy banquet committee.”

"There are people who show up to work and do what they are told within their job," Bethel Director of Athletics Tony Hoops said. "Then there are people who show up and invest everything they have each day into their job because it is their passion. Josh is that passionate individual and is essentially the backbone of our athletic department. He is more than just our SID, Josh is a figurehead of Bethel Athletics within our campus."

In conference activities, Booth served as statistician of the KCAC volleyball championships and the KCAC women’s soccer quarterfinals. He provided the live stream for the KCAC Cross Country Championships. He provided play-by-play commentary for several games at the KCAC softball championships.

He also provided play-by-play commentary for the NAIA softball opening round games in Dodge City.

He serves on the NAIA Branding Committee and was an NAIA-SIDA Webinar panelist. He also served on the CoSIDA Academic All-America New Media Committee.