K-State selects committee

Forty-five Kansas State University students were recently selected to serve on the 2019 Homecoming student committee. Homecoming activities will take place Oct. 20-26.

Alexis Hoskinson, Burrton, was selected to be part of the committee.

The week marks K-State’s 104th Homecoming celebration. Homecoming is a university-wide celebration coordinated by the K-State Alumni Association.

A committee of K-State Alumni Association staff members selects students for the Homecoming student committee after an application review process. Homecoming committee members are responsible for selecting and planning all Homecoming events, creating rules and guidelines for student competitions, and promoting and staffing all events.



KSDE honors tech students

Thirty-nine Kansas high school seniors have been named 2019 Kansas Career and Technical Education (CTE) Scholars, the Kansas State Department of Education announced Tuesday.

 Of those 39 students, 12 are from Newton High School.

Those honored from Newton include Jessica Floerke; Jonathan Fowler; Nicholas Koehn; Josh McClure; Faye Smith; Kaitlyn Black; Matthew Eldridge; Tristan Meyer; Reid Graber; Hannah Becker; Kori Roberson; and Alexandra Murray.

The Kansas CTE Scholar program is an opportunity to recognize well-rounded outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school. This is the second year for the initiative.

Students have to be a high school senior and meet the following criteria to be selected as a scholar: Have earned or presently enrolled in 3.0 or more CTE credits; provide documentation of technical skill attainment; have a CTE grade point average of 3.5 or better in CTE coursework; demonstrated leadership; demonstrated community engagement; have professional learning experiences; and provide a career vision summary statement.

Scholars will receive a commemorative pin, special certificate and statewide recognition.


Students selected as fellows

MANHATTAN — The Staley School of Leadership Studies at Kansas State University has selected the fifth class of Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows.

Jared Langley, biology, and Jaiden Ochoa, life sciences, both from Newton were selected.

"Coach Bill Snyder is known as a developer of leaders whose legacy continues to have a tremendous impact that extends far beyond the game of football," said Marcia Hornung, director of the Snyder Leadership Legacy Fellows Program and instructor of leadership studies. "Coach Snyder's '16 Goals for Success' have been embraced by many as guiding principles for success in life — in family, community and career. The Staley School, in partnership with K-State Athletics, is honored to offer a program to facilitate leadership development for students based on Coach Snyder's goals for success. Students were selected for the program based on their demonstrated leadership skills and potential."

Snyder Fellows will engage in a variety of leadership development workshops, activities and events during the 2019-2020 academic year, kicking off with an intensive retreat in May. The program honors Coach Snyder and his dedication to Kansas State University, the Staley School of Leadership Studies, his players and the university's students by continuing his work in developing high-impact leaders on campus, in their communities, in their states and beyond, Hornung said.