Kansas Volleyball Association


Prep Rankins

Class 6A — 1. Blue Valley North, 2. Olathe Northwest, 3. Washburn Rural, 4. Lawrence Free State, 5. Gardner-Edgerton, 6. Blue Valley West, 7. Blue Valley, 8. Manhattan, 9. Lawrence, 10. Garden City.

Class 5A — 1. St. James Academy, 2. St. Thomas Aquinas, 3. Lansing, 4. De Soto, 5. Bishop Carroll, 6. Topeka Seaman, 7. Basehor-Linwood, 8. Maize South, 9. Hays, 10. McPherson.

Class 4A — 1. Rose Hill, 2. Topeka Hayden, 3. Louisburg, 4. Andale, 5. Nickerson, 6. Wichita Trinity Academy, 7. Circle, 8. Santa Fe Trail, 9. Ulysses, 10. Independence.

Class 3A — 1. Nemaha Central, 2. Burlington, 3. Royal Valley, 4. Holton, 5. Beloit, 6. HESSTON, 7. Thomas More Prep-Marian, 8. Silver Lake, 9. Cheney, 10. Riverton.

Class 2A — 1. Heritage Christian, 2. Smith Center, 3. St. Mary’s-Colgan, 4. Meade, 5. Valley Heights, 6. Garden Plain, 7. Bluestem, 8. St. Marys, 9. SEDGWICK, 10. Plainville.

Class 1A — 1. Centralia, 2. Sylvan-Lucas Unified, 3. GOESSEL, 4. Argonia, 5. Hanover, 6. Thunder Ridge, 7. Beloit-St. John’s/Tipton, 8. Kiowa County, 9. South Central, 10. Rural Vista.

SCL adds

four teams

WICHITA — The Sunflower Collegiate League, of which the Newton Rebels is a member, is adding four teams for the 2019 season — all from the Jayhawk League.

The league added the Derby Twins, the El Dorado Broncos, the Great Bend Bat Cats and the Haysville Aviators.

“The Sunflower Collegiate League is very pleased to be expanding in just its third season of competition,” said Casey Walkup, the Sunflower League commissioner. “This expansion will add four quality teams to our already strong league, while adding teams with rich summer collegiate baseball tradition.”

The Broncos are the oldest team among the expansion group, founded as the Hutchinson Broncs. The team moved to Wichita as the Broncos in 1985 and then moved to El Dorado in 1996.

The team won National Baseball Congress World Series titles in 1989, 1990, 1996, 1998 and 2009. The team also won nine Jayhawk League titles.

Numerous Major League players have been members of the team.

The Derby Twins began play in the Walter Johnson League, which contains several SCL members. The Twins won the Jayhawk League in 2007, finishing third in the NBC World Series that season.

The Haysville Aviators were founded in 2012 as WJL members and jouned the Jayhawk League in 2015. The team finished fifth in the NBC World Series in 2014 and second in 2015.

The Great Bend Bat Cats are the youngest team of the group, beginning play in 2017. The Bat Cats advanced to the NBC World Series that season, taking ninth.

Last season, Derby was 19-17 in league play, El Dorado was 15-21, Great Bend was 12-23 and Haysville was 11-25, placing fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh respectively. Derby received an NBC World Series bid for this season, finishing 2-1 in pool play.

El Dorado plays at McDonald Stadium in downtown El Dorado. Great Bend plays at Al Burns Memorial Field in Veterans Park, on the northwest side of town. Derby plays at Panther Field, next to Derby Middle School. Haysville plays at the Plagens-Carpenter Sports Complex near W. 63rd Street South and S. Seneca Street in Haysville.

The addition of the four teams brings the SCL up to 11 teams. Existing teams include the Cheney Diamond Dawgs, Mulvane Patriots, Hutchinson Monarchs, Wichita Sluggers, Haven Warhawks, Newton Rebels and the Salina Shock.

“With the tradition we are building and the tradition we are adding, the Sunflower is positioned to be one of the premiere summer collegiate baseball leagues in the Midwest region,” said Walkup. “The Wichita area, and State of Kansas, is known for its summer collegiate baseball throughout the country and we look forward to building on that reputation.”

The SCL is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization and a Premier League Affiliate of the National Baseball Congress. Last season, the league received two automatic berths for the NBC World Series — one for the league champion (Cheney, a Championship Week berth) and one for the runner-up (Mulvane, a First Week berth). The league also received a First Week berth for the Mid-Kansas Collegiate Qualifier (Newton). Hutchinson received an at-large berth for Hutchinson, which finished third in the league and fourth in the tournament.

The move leaves the Jayhawk League with three — the Hays Larks, Liberal BeeJays and Dodge City A’s. The Oklahoma City Indians played a partial Jayhawk League schedule.

Wingnuts stop

Winnipeg again

WICHITA — The Wichita Wingnuts swept the Winnipeg Goldeyes with a 7-3 win Wednesday night in American Association play at Lawrence-Dumont Stadium.

Reggie Abercrombie and Josh Mazzola each hit solo home runs for Winnipeg in the top of the first. Abel Nieves counters with a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the first.

Grant Heyman hit a home run for Winnipeg in the top of of the fourth. Wichita came back with a two-run Tony Thomas shot in the bottom of the fourth and a Logan Trowbridge sacrifice fly.

Reyes added a solo shot for Wichita in the sixth. Zach Nehrir hit a two-run single in the seventh inning.

Charlie Gillies (7-5) went seven innings for the win, allowing three runs, four hits, a walk and seven strikeouts. Austin Boyle threw the final two innings, striking out two.

Heyman went two for four hitting for Winnipeg.

Brennan Bernadino (1-2) went six innings for the Goldeyes in the loss, allowing five runs, five hits, two walks and three strikeouts. Jack Charleston and Zack Dodson each threw an inning.

Wichita is 54-35 with 11 games to play. Sioux City downed Fargo-Moorhead 7-3 to deny the Wingnuts their eighth straight division title, but Wichita is just two games behind the Kansas City T-Bones for a playoff spot.

Wichita opens a three-game series against the Texas AirHogs in Grand Prairie, Texas. The AirHogs are 24-64, but are on a two-game winning streak.



Berdino (L, 1-2), Charleston 7, Dodson 8 and Baker; Gillies (W, 7-5), Boyle 8 and Trowbridge. HR — Win.: Abercrombie (15), Mazzola (17), Heyman (15). Wic.: Reyes (15), Thomas (21). Time — 2:13. Attendance — 1,028.