WICHITA — The National Junior College Athletic Association National Team reached the finals of the National Baseball Congress World Series after a 7-3 win over the Wellington Heat Friday at Lawrence-Dumont Stadium.

The NJCAA team improves to 4-1 and will face the Santa Barbara Foresters at 7 p.m. today in the finals.

The Heat struck for three runs in the bottom of the third inning. Luis Amaro and Joe Rankin each drove in a run on a single. Another run scored on a balk.

The NJCAA tied the game in the top of the sixth. Josh Brystan hit an RBI double. Bryan Sturges and Colton Onstott each added an RBI single.

With two outs in the top of the seventh, Sturges and Brant Blaylock each hit an RBI single.

With one out in the top of the eighth, Tommy Sacco drew a bases-loaded walk. With bases loaded and two outs in the top of the ninth, the NJCAA scored on a wild pitch.

Brystan and Blaylock each finished two for four for the NJCAA. Sturges finished two for five.

Rankin finished two for four for the Heat.

The NJCAA used five pitchers with Braden Scott getting the win. The Heat also used five pitchers with Wyatt Haccou taking the loss.

The Heat end the tournament 4-1.

NJCAA National Team 7,

Wellington Heat 3


Sturges 3b;5;1;2;2;Burts 2b;4;1;0;0

Blaylock lf;4;1;2;1;Lyons ss;5;1;1;0

Onstott dh;4;0;1;1;Amaro 1b;4;1;1;1

Whipple pr;0;0;0;0;Rankin dh;4;0;2;1

Garza 1b;4;1;1;0;Connolly lf;3;0;1;0

Edge cf;4;0;1;0;Koch cf;4;0;0;0

Parker rf;5;0;0;0;Dubler c;3;0;0;0

Childers c;1;0;0;0;Curtis rf;3;0;0;0

Hoehner c;2;0;0;0;Robinson 3b;2;0;1;0

Sacco 2b;3;2;1;1;

Brystan ss;4;2;2;1;




E — Dubler. DP — Wellington. LOB — NJ 10, Wel. 8. 2B — Bryston. SB — Blaylock, Burts, Bryston, Sacco, Whipple. Sac. Bunt — Robinson.





Scott, W;3.1;2;0;0;1;2






Haccou, L;1.1;3;2;2;1;2




Henderson faced two batters in the ninth inning.

WP — Ramos Crawford. PB — Dubler. Balk — Warren, Diaz. HBP — Curtis (Warren).

Umpires — Plate: Hutchinson; First: Spisak; Second: Olson; Third: Mudd. Time — 3:07.

Today’s game


Santa Barbara Foresters vs. NJCAA National Team winner 7 p.m.