The Newton High School wrestling team stayed close to top-ranked (KWCA, Class 6A) Derby Thursday, falling 38-31 in a dual meet at Ravenscroft Gym.

The Railers entered the meet ranked eighth in Class 5A.

Derby won six of the 14 matches. Newton won five. The Panthers won two matches where Newton was open. Newton won one by forfeit.

Three Railers claimed wins by pin — Grant Treaster in the first period over Tony Proctor at 113 pounds, Josh Edson in the first period over Jace Jenkins at 145 pounds and Dante Harper in the second period over Tyler Allen of Derby at 170 pounds.

Boone Roberson claimed a 16-2 major decision over Jaden Detlammer at 138 pounds. Cyle Gautschi posted a 6-0 decision over Nik Self at 220 pounds.

Wyatt Hendrickson received a forfeit win at 195 pounds.

Sawyer Mock fell 5-1 to Derby’s Ethan Hill at 120 pounds. Bryan Cusick fell to Derby’s Bryce Westmoreland 7-1 at 182 pounds.

Zach Engelken dropped a 16-2 major decision to Carson Lindsey at 106. Brecken Wedel fell to Ronnie Washington at heavyweight in an 11-2 major decision.

Gage Llamas was pinned by Derby’s Xavier Sisco in the first period at 126 pounds. Nick Antonowich was pinned by Cade Lindsey in the first period at 152 pounds.

Forfeit wins for Derby went to Brandon Becker at 132 pounds and Tristan Wills at 160 pounds.

Newton is 4-5 in dual meets, 2-2 in AV-CTL I duals. Newton is off until Jan. 26 and 27, when the Railers travel to Garden City for the Rocky Welton Invitational.

Derby 38, Newton 31

106 — Cason Lindsey D maj.dec. Zach Engelken N 19-7. 113 — Grant Treaster N pinned Tony Proctor D 1:20. 120 — Ethan Hill D dec. Sawyer Mock N 5-1. 126 — Xavier Sisco D pinned Gaige LLamas N 1:36. 132 — Brandon Becker D won by forfeit. 138 — Boone Roberson N maj.dec. Jaden Detlammer D 16-2. 145 — Josh Edson N pinned Jace Jenkns D :48. 152 — Cade Lindsey D pinned Nick Antonowich N 1:12. 160 — Trstan Wills D won by forfeit. 170 — Dante Harper N pinned Tyler Allen D 3:27. 182 — Bryce Westmoreland D dec. Bryan Cusick N 7-1. 195 — Wyatt Hedrickson N won by forfeit. 220 — Cyle Gautshi N dec. Nik Self D 6-0. HWT — Ronnie Washington D maj.dec. Brecken Wedel N 11-2.