Four Goessel students earned spots in the Kansas Music Educator's Assocaition 1-2-3-4A State Honor Band this year.

Three musicians will play French horn in the honor band — Julianna Schrag (second chair), Jenny Horne (fourth chair) and Elizabeth Alderfer (fifth chair) — and one will play clarinet — Stephany Meyer (20th chair).

The KMEA All-State Bands perform each year at the annual In-Service Workshop at the Century II Convention Center in Wichita. Students are selected by an audition process that starts at the district level. Students who perform at the district level are then eligible to audition for selection to the All-State instrumental ensembles.

The 1-2-3-4A Honor Band is one of two honor bands selected. It will be directed by W. Dale Warren, Senior Wind Band Conductor and Professor of Music in the University of Arkansas Department of Music. The 5-6A band will be conducted by Emily Threinen, Director of Bands and Associate Professor in the School of Music at the University of Minnesota.

The two state honor bands will perform at 4 and 5:30 p.m. Feb. 24 at Century II Convention Center, 225 W. Douglas Ave, Wichita. General admission tickets are $7.