Wedgewood Senior Men

1. J.R. Pitts, Paul Normandin, Don Bastin, Bob Schmidt -5.

2. Don Yoder, Sam Griffin, Roman Mannabach, Paul Flores -5.

Closest to pin 3 — Sam Griffin. Closest to pin 9 on second shot — Don Bastin.

Next play — 1 p.m. Thursday.

Bethel signs

Abilene senior

Bethel College volleyball coach Stacy Middleton signed her second player for the 2018 season.

Jensen Roth of Abilene signed a letter of intent to play for the Threshers beginning this fall. A 5-foot-5 setter for Abilene High School, Roth averaged 4.82 sets and 1.61 digs a season. She added 94 kills, 27 aces and 11 downed blocks.

She was an All-North Central Kansas League selection. She helped lead Abilene to a 26-12 season, falling in the Class 4A, Division I sub-state semifinals.

Roth also played for the Abilene Aces and West Central SLAM club teams.

“I am looking forward to coming to Bethel next year and taking my volleyball game to the next level,” Roth said.

“​I​ ​am​ ​thrilled​ ​to​ ​have​ ​Jensen​ ​joining​ ​our​ ​program,” Middleton said. “She​ ​has​ ​a​ ​great​ ​work​ ​ethic​ ​that​ ​will​ ​be​ ​beneficial​ ​both​ ​on​ ​the​ ​court​ ​and​ ​in​ ​the​ ​classroom. She​ ​is​ ​team​ ​player​ ​that​ ​is​ ​willing​ ​to​ ​accept​ ​any​ ​role​ ​given​ ​and​ ​has​ ​the​ ​ability​ ​to​ ​make​ ​quick adjustments​ ​as​ ​a​ ​setter.​ ​I'm​ ​excited​ ​to​ ​work​ ​with​ ​Jensen​ ​because​ ​she​ ​already​ ​has​ ​an understanding​ ​of​ ​the​ ​great​ ​volleyball​ ​tradition​ ​here​ ​at​ ​Bethel.”

Roth also competed in basketball and softball at Abilene. She was on the principal’s honor roll. She intends to major in history education.

Both of Bethel’s early signings were daughters of previous Bethel athletes.

Hesston drops

dual meets

NICKERSON — The Hesston High School wrestling team fell to Nickerson 60-18 and Lyons 36-24 Thursday in Nickerson.

Wins for the Swathers against Nickerson went to Matt Whitsitt by fall at 160 pounds and Ethan Parrot by fall at 220 pounds. Jason Hecht won by forfeit at 126 pounds.

Hesston was open at 106, 113, 132, 145 and 195 pounds.

Riley Slater (120), Lucas Klassen (138), Austin Griffin (152), Dalton Carey (170), Owen O’Hallorren (182) and Alex Koehn (heavyweight) all lost by fall for Hesston.

Against Lyons, wins went to Hecht (126), Whitsitt (160), Carey (170) and Sean Duerksen (220) all by forfeit.

At 120, Slater lost a 9-6 decision. Klaassen (138), Griffin (152), O’Halloran (182) and Koehn (heavyweight) all lost by fall.

"We didn't match-up very well with either team,” Hesston coach Doug Broadfoot said. “We were disappointed that we didn't win more matches. We needed more pins versus Lyons and didn't get them. Matt Whitsitt wrestled tought in beatinng a really good Nickerson wrestler for the second time this season. We will continue staying positive, gain experience, and most of all learn. Ten of our guys have very little varsity experience, but they are getting it now. We have lots of time to improve in the practice room since we're not in action again until January at the Ellsworth Tournament.”

The Swathers compete Jan. 6 at the Ellsworth Invitational.

Nickerson 60, Hesston 18

106 — Nichole Moore N won by forfeit. 113 — Daisy Raburn N won by forfeit. 120 — Gage Cooper N pinned Riley Slater H 2:50. 126 — Jason Hecht H won by forfeit. 132 — Anthony Carder N won by forfeit. 138 — Dylan Schneider N pinned Lucas Klaussen H 1:27. 145 — Clayton Edwards N won by forfeit. 152 — Noah Salazar N pinned Austin Griffin H 4:32. 160 (JV) — Cody Wohlgemuth H pinned Kellie Edwards N 0:26. 160 — Matt Whittsitt H pinned Dylan Stewert N 2:41. 170 — Chandler Eaton N pinned Dalton Carey H 0:41. 182 — Jarin Gomez N pinned Owen O`Hallorren H 1:37. 195 — no match. 220 — Ethan Parrot H pinned Wyatt Pauly N 2:52. 220 (JV) — Michael Schneider N pinned Sean Duerkson H 3:21. 285 — Mattieu Cedillio N pinned Alex Koehn H 2:20.

Lyons 36, Hesston 24

106 — no match. 113 — no match. 120 — T. Tingle L dec. Riley Slater H 9-6. 126 — Jason Hecht H won by forfeit. 132 — no match. 138 — C. Goans L pinned Lucas Klaassen H 1:24. 145 — I. Saez L won by forfeit. 152 — B. Ortiz L pinned Austin Griffin H 2:21. 160 — Matt Whitsitt H won by forfeit. 170 — Dalton Carey H won by forfeit. 182 — T. Weaver L pinned Owen O'Halloran H 4:51. 195 — W. Scobbee L won by forfeit.220 — Sean Duerksen H won by forfeit. HWT — P. Schwertfeger pinned Alex Koehn H :56.

Junior varsity

138 — C. Keesling L pinned Lucas Klaassen H 1:54. 220 — Ethan Parrott H pinned L. Contreras L 1:32.