Congratulations are in order to the following people and organizations which appeared in The Newton Kansan last week:

Brent and Michelle Coffman; Dave and Marilyn Reimer; Eliza Johnson and Ray Bailey; and Cathy Edwards, who will each host a portion of the Olson Holiday Home Tour

Brent Entz, the Newton High School saxophone ensemble, the Newton High School string ensemble and the Wichita Chorus, who will each provide entertainment during the Olson Holiday Home Tour.

SafeHope of Newton, which is offering an opportunity for community members to help provide holiday help to SafeHope clients with an Angel Tree program.

Art is Ageless winners from Newton Presbyterian Manor.

The Central Kanas Community Foundation, which announced Giving Tuesday donations topped $100,000.

Jerry Holsopple, whose "7x7 Laments: For an Age of Sexualized Power" is on display the Bethel College Art Gallery. 

Newton Young Professionals and the Newton Area Chamber of Commerce, which hosted a lunch with gubernatorial candidate Jim Barnett. 

The Newton Area of Chamber of Commerce, which announced a downtown "Elf on the Shelf" contest.

First Church of God, Jason Reynolds of the Community Chaplain Response Team and Harvey County Emergency Management Director Gary Denny who will host a forum to discuss protecting churches from shootings. 

The McPherson Community Brass Choir, which announced a concert in Goessel.

Shalom Mennonite Church, which announced a "Longest Night" service.

Newton High School girls basketball, for winning their season opener at Emporia.

Area golfers who competed in league play. 

Sedgwick High School boys basketball, for winning their season opener against Nickerson.

Hesston High School girls basketball, for winning their season opener against Sacred Heart.

Ethan Torres, Ryan Hirsh and the 200-yard freestyle relay team of Noah Massanari, Creed Ekerberg, Torres and Hirsh from Newton High School swimming who qualified for the state championships. 

Hesston College men's basketball, which ran the team win streak to four games.

Alexis Zehr of Burrton High School volleyball, who was named to the HOPL All-League teams. 

Area bowlers who competed in league play. 

Jacob Easley of Newton, who is wearing a Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer costume while ringing the Salvation Army Bell.

The Newton Police Department, Harvey County Sheriffs Office and the Newton Fire/EMS Department, which will each participate in a "Battle of the Badges" while ringing the Salvation Army bell this year.

Grand Central, wich announced a new multi-phase plan to replaced the aging heating and air system in the facility.

Megan Nagel of Santa Fe 5/6 Center, who was one of eight finalists for Kansas Teacher of the Year and was honored by the Newton City Commission.

Monica Plank, a sophomore at Hesston College, who hosted a piano recital.

Bethel College steel drum bands, which performed their first-ever Christmas concert at the school.

The Harvey County Kansas State Research and Extension office, which promoted a "Dining In" day.

Hunter Mapes, Brett Ashcraft, Cyle Gautschi, Warren Dietz, Ryan Watkins, Matt Seier, Cailen Valdez, Colton Davis, Jerick Ochoa and Brian Cusick of Newton High School football, who were each named to the AV-CTL Div. I All-League football teams.

Hanover High School football, which completed an undefeated season and won the Kansas High School Activities Association Eight Man Div. II championship at Fischer Field.

Hoxie High School football, which won the Kansas High School Activities Association Eight Man Div. I championship at Fischer Field.

Austin Bollinger of Hesston, who announced his annual Christmas light display in Hesston is up and running.

Newton Police Officer Charles Shell and Kansas Highway Patrol Technical Trooper Carson Nuss, who hosted "IMPEDE" at Newton High School to educate the community on drug use.

James McCartney, former Bethel College football player and assistant coach, who was named interim head coach for Bethel College.

Area high school basketball, wrestling and wrestling teams which started the 2017-18 seasons.

Ali Jost, Jessanna Nebel and Megan Voth of Hesston High School; Brooke Holloway of Moundridge, Olivia Duerksen of Goessel; and Tianna Frazell of Halstead will advance to the second round of the NAIA National Volleyball Championships with the Tabor College volleyball team.

AGCO, which announced a new MF-Hesston bailer.

Newton High grads Emily Hiebert and Abbie Lehman who are both starters for Wichita State and helped earn Wichita State a spot in the NCAA tournament.

Kevin Miller, who was named General Manager of Bunting Magnetic’s primary manufacturing facility in Newton.

Kirby and Julie Jantzen, who are launching "KJ's Street Cafe" in February.

Anthony Minja, PMHNP-BC, and Derek Parker, PsyD, LMAC, T-LP, who joined the clinical staff at Prairie View.