“Fiddler on the Roof” will take to the Newton High School stage this summer, produced by the Newton Community Theatre in July.

The production will be staged at 7:30 p.m. July 9, 7:30 p.m. July 10, 2:30 p.m. July 11 and 7:30 p.m. July 11. Tickets for the production went on sale this week, available at the Newton Activity Center, 415 N. Poplar, and Designs By John, 115 W. Fifth St. Tickets are $10 for adults, $8 for children 12 and under and $8 for those 65 and older.

The cast began learning dance movements for the musical this week.

In the musical, based on a book by Joseph Stein and set in the Pale Settlement of Imperial Russia of 1905, Tevye the milkman tries to protect his daughters and his way of life from a changing world.

The musical was the winner of nine TONY Awards when it debuted in 1964. The Fiddler On The Roof musical was written by Broadway legends Jerome Robbins, Harold Prince, songwriters Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick, and Stein.

Set in the little village of Anatevka, the story centers on Tevye, a poor dairyman, and his five daughters. With the help of a colorful and tight-knit Jewish community, Tevye tries to protect his daughters and instill them with traditional values in the face of changing social mores and the growing anti-Semitism of Czarist Russia.

Well known musical selections include "Sunrise, Sunset," "If I Were A Rich Man," and "Matchmaker, Matchmaker."

Cast list for "Fiddler on the Roof"

Avrum — Adam Chamberlain

Constable — Mark Schnable

Nachum — Maia Cuellar

Fyedka — John Jurado

Grmdma Tzeitel — Julie Garrett

Rabbi — Cody Claassen

Mordcha — Kyle Doesken

Lazar Wolfe — Dalton Smith

Bielke — Elise Kliewer

Yente — Julie Garrett

Perchik — Caleb Neu

Shprintze — Abigail Christensen

Chava — Jennifer Tozier

Hodel — Ally Tozier

Tzeitel — Tara Harms-Becker

Golde — Kristin Kliewer

Motel — Jordan Slusher

Tevye — David Kliewer

Fruma Sarah — Giovanna McQuillen Schnabel

Mendel — Ben Preheim

Shaindel — Angela Garrett

Chorus: Neva Dorado, Penny Dorado, Mariah Garrett, Raining Huo, Emily Kerbs, Eunice Kerbs, Emma Kliewer, Paige Kliewer-McClellan, Jasper Krehbiel, Missy Richardson, Mykala Sprague and Hannah Sweeley