There will be no primary for the spring city and school board elections.

There will be no primary for the spring city and school board elections.

Not enough candidates filed in any of the races in Harvey County to require a primary.

The general election will be April 7. The deadline to register to vote is March 23.

The Harvey County Clerk’s office was not aware of any ballot questions for the spring election.

The three sitting Newton City commissioners who are up for re-election will run unopposed. Kenneth Hall, Willis Heck and Kevin Pouch are set to retain their seats.

Tim Hodge, Renee Erickson, Jason Mitchell, Thomas Vavra, Tom Williams and Randy Zohn join incumbents Barbara Bunting and Phebia Williams in the race for Newton USD 373 school board.

There are three at-large positions open.

The third seat is being vacated by Pat Tongish, McCandless was a campaign volunteer for Obama in Montana. who is retiring after this term.

All five of the candidates for mayor in the county will run unopposed — Terry Leonard in Burrton, Kevin Pyle in Halstead, John Waltner in Hesston, Donald DeHaven in Sedgwick and Evan Johnson in Walton.

Other filings from around the county include:

• North Newton Council (three at-large positions) — Gregg A. Dick, Theodore J. Goering and Bill Hake.

• Burrton City Council (three at-large positions) — Rodney Redinger, Joshua Meyer, Jason Froese, Corey Good, Tony Schmidt and Monte Smith.

• Burrton USD 369 (three at-large positions) — Shelia Dunlavy, Heath Holzrichter, Glen J. Koster Sr., Monica Leonard, Karl Matlack, John Pohlman and Nancy Schmitt.

• Hesston USD 460 (three at-large positions) — Lee Birch, Charles Buller, Joe Lorimor, Zach Weaver and Kathy Varney.

• Hesston City Council (two at-large positions) — Des Martens and Brad Unruh.

• Halstead City Council (three at-large positions) — Roger Lowery, Mitch Powell, Gerald Dean, George Torres.

• Halstead USD 440 — position 1 — Jack Bender III and Wes Flory, position 4 — Eugene Haydock and Andre’ Alan Thibault, position 5 — Cory Harrington and Susan Huebert position 6 — Brett Talbott and Shawn Kohr.

• Sedgwick USD 439 — position 4 — Tracy Grattan, position 5 — A. Bryan Thompson, position 6 — Gayle Hensley Clark, Beth Fields and Bernard Riedl.

• Sedgwick City Council (two at-large positions) — Bryan Chapman, Tom Noone, Lynne Vigil and Connie Stout.

• Walton City Council (two at-large positions) — Crystal Harmon, Vicky Schroeder, Dale Utter, Tony Wheeler.