A number of Bethel College athletes garnered post-season awards.

A number of Bethel College athletes garnered post-season awards.

Sophomore tennis player Paige McKinney was named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Player to Watch for 2008-09. McKinney, a Newton High School grad who transfered to Bethel from NCAA Division I Oral Roberts, was named a second-team National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics All-American for the recent spring season, finishing 23-0 in singles play and 16-6 in doubles play. She lost just one set in singles play and finished the season ranked 15th in the final NAIA poll. She was a unanimous All-Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference first-team pick and was named conference player of the year and newcomer of the year.

At the Bethel Athletic Awards Banquet, football and basketball player Brandon Kaufman and football and track athlete Jeff Buller, both seniors, were named the George Rogers Co-Male Athletes of the Year.

Kristen Schrag, a volleyball player and track athlete, was named the George Rogers Female Athlete of the Year.

The awards were named for George “Jolly” Rogers, a former athlete, coach and administrator at Bethel.

Kaufman, a senior from Moundridge, was a first-team NAIA All-American and was the KCAC defensive player of the year. Schrag, a junior from Moundridge, was the KCAC libero-defensive specialist of the year. She also was the NAIA Region IV libero-defensive specialist of the year.

Buller, a senior from Inman, was a first-team All-KCAC selection in football and won the NAIA javelin title for the second straight season.

Winning Douglas A. Penner Scholarships were Schrag, freshman Rachael Gaeddert of Larned (cross country), sophomore Maya Kehr of Goshen, Ind. (women’s soccer) and junior Greg Shelly of Lenexa. The award is named for the former Bethel president.

Senior track athlete Bradley Backer of Wetmore received the Sieber Service Award, named for the retired BC soccer coach and current cross country coach Gerry Sieber.

For the 2007-08 school year, 64 Bethel athletes earned All-KCAC honors. Thirteen were named KCAC player of the week.

Freshman Amanda Hiebert of North Newton was named freshman of the year in women’s basketball. Drew Pippin, a junior from Sand Springs, Okla., was awarded the KCAC Sportsmanship Award in men’s tennis.

Eight athletes were named NAIA All-Region IV — Schrag, senior Heather Palmateer-Kindall of Topeka and Sarah Thompson, a senior from Newton, and Robyn Larson, in volleyball; and Emmanuel Bato, a junior from Porto Alegre, Brazil, Craig Bonnyman, a freshman from Glascow, Scotland, Gareth Hamer, a freshman from Ludlow, England, and Brady Coffman, a freshman from Newton, in men’s soccer.

The Threshers had 48 athletes named to the KCAC All-Academic team, where athletes must be at least a sophomore, letter in a varsity sport and maintain a grade-point-average of 3.33 or better. There were 18 named to the NAIA Scholar-Athlete team, including just named golfer Nathan Schmidt, a junior from Tribune; tennis player Tyler Doerksen, a senior from Prescott Valley, Ariz.; tennis player Jana Jensen, a senior from Prescott Valley, Ariz..; and tennis player Katie Robertson, a junior from Lawrence.