TOPEKA — There was only one classification change among area schools when the Kansas State High School Activities Association released its classifications for the 2017-18 school year.

Goessel High School has been moved up from Class 1A to Class 2A.

The classifications are based on enrollments taken Sept. 20 for all students in grades nine through 12.

The top 32 schools by enrollment are placed in Class 6A, followed by the next 32 in Class 5A, the next 64 in Class 4A (which is then further divided into two divisions in some sports), the next 64 in Class 3A, the next 64 in Class 2A and the remaining 97 schools are placed in Class 1A (divided into two divisions in some sports).

Goessel has a reported enrollment of 93. The cutoff between Class 2A and 1A is 92.

Newton remains in Class 5A at 1,042. Newton is the 17th largest school out of 32 in Class 5A.

Hesston at 260, Halstead at 245, Remington at 173 and Sedgwick at 161 all remain in Class 3A. Hesston was reported as the largest Class 3A school, while Sedgwick was tied as the sixth smallest.

Berean Academy remains at Class 2A at 103. Peabody-Burns at 81 and Burrton at 65 both remain in Class 1A.

This will be the final year for the current classification scheme, as KSHSAA members approved changes during the summer, which will take effect in the 2018-19 school year.

In the new scheme, the top 36 schools will be in Class 6A, followed by the next 36 in Class 5A and the next 36 in Class 4A. Following Class 4A, the next 64 will be in Class 3A, followed by the next 64 in Class 2A. The remaining schools will be in Class 1A.

The divisional alignment in Class 4A and 1A will be eliminated.

Also released are the football classifications for the 2018 and 2019 school years.

Football classifications are based on enrollment of all ninth through 11th graders.

The football classification scheme remains the same for Class 6A and 5A at 32 schools each. Class 4A also has been reduced to 32 schools. Class 4A will adopt the district structure Class 6A and Class 5A have utilized since last year — an eight-game regular season, followed by the first round of playoffs for all teams in week nine. The top three classes will each have 16-team east and west districts to determine playoff seeding.

Class 3A and Class 2A will each have 48 schools, divided into eight six-team districts with the top two teams of each district advancing to the playoffs. The remaining 11-man teams will be placed in Class 1A (currently at 31 schools) with seven four-team districts and a three-team district and the top two teams from each district advancing.

Eight-man schools will remain divided into two divisions. Each division will have eight six- to-seven-team districts with the top two teams in each district advancing to the playoffs.

Newton will remain in Class 5A with 764 students.

Hesston and Halstead remain in Class 3A with 206 and 188 students respectively.

Remington, a 122, will compete in Class 2A. Sedgwick at 112 will compete in Class 1A.

Goessel at 77 and Moundridge at 74 will both compete in Eight-Man Division I. Moundridge will drop down from 11-man beginning next season. Burrton at 51 will compete in Eight-Man II.