Hesston Senior Men

T1. Floyd Sowers, Harry Winter, Lee Flickinger.

T1. Chet Roberts, Dave Wallace, Doyle Dodd.

T3. Rod Snyder, John Yost, Dean Streck, Larry Hague.

T3. Blaine Rucker, Gary Vogt, Lowell Roth, Erwin Loeffler.

5. Bob Buller, Bob Beitler, Randy Hague, Wayne Stucky.

Three Bethel

players honored

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Three members of the Bethel College men’s basketball team were named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches Court of Honor for the 2016-17 school year.

Players named were Jacob Miller, a senior from Westmoreland; Chase Bannister, a junior from Douglass; and Tanner Long, a sophomore from Portland, Ore.

To be named to the team, a player must be at least a junior, have attended the school for at least one year and hold a 3.2 or higher grade-point-average on a 4.0 scale.

The school must be either an NCAA or NAIA member with a NABC member coach.

The three are Bethel’s first selections to the team in 10 years.

Thunder signs

Forward Sofron

WICHITA — The Wichita Thunder signed Hungarian national team member Istvan Sofron for the 2017-18 season.

Sofron is an 11-year pro who has spent his entire career playing in the Austrian and German leagues. In 408 professional games, Sofron has 233 goals with 137 assists. In 13 playoff games, Sofron has three goals with seven assists.

Sofron spent last season with Szekeshfehervar Alba Volan HC of the Austrian league, scoring 15 goals with 15 assists in 49 games. He was the top scorer in the Austrian league in 2012. His teams won the Hungarian championships five times

He is a native of Miercurea Ciuc, Romania. He has played for Team Hungary for the past nine seasons. In international play in 2010-11, he scored 10 goals with seven assists and was named the best forward of the year. He scored Hungary’s lone goal in a 5-1 loss to the US.

The team finished as high as second in its group three times during his tenure with the Hungarian team at the IIHF World Championships.

"I'm so excited because this is the first time I will be playing in the US," Sofron said. "I've never played in a small rink before, but I'm looking forward to this season. I think my style is suitable for it. I like to finish checks. I'm a strong competitor, good skater, good shooting skills and I always try to do my best. Growing up as a child, I always knew that I would like to play in the US. For me, this is a dream come true."

"Istvan has elite level skill and has a tremendous shot," Wichita coach Malcolm Cameron said. "He has played in the top European leagues and has played against excellent competition. We are looking forward to seeing him on the ice in Wichita."

Sofron is the seventh player under contract for Wichita for the upcoming season.

Maui invite

pairings made

LAHAINA, Hawaii (AP) — The pairings for the 2017 Maui Invitational have been announced and Wichita State and Notre Dame lead the brackets.

Wichita State will face California while Marquette meets VCU in another quarterfinal, it was announced Tuesday.

Notre Dame will play host Division II Chaminade and Michigan meets LSU in the other bracket.

The 34th edition of the Maui Invitational, sponsored by Maui Jim, will be played Nov. 20-22 at the Lahaina Civic Center.

MLS All-Stars


By The Associated Press

Thirteen players including Toronto's Jozy Altidore and Portland's Diego Valeri have been added to Major League Soccer's All-Star team for the Aug. 2 game against Real Madrid in Chicago.

Two commissioner's picks and 11 players named by All-Star coach Veljko Paunovic were added Tuesday to the fan selections to represent the league at the game at Soldier Field.

MLS Commissioner Don Garber selected Kellyn Acosta of FC Dallas and Dom Dwyer of Sporting Kansas City.

Among the other players selected by Paunovic were Seattle goalkeeper Stefan Frei, Fire midfielder Dax McCarty and Galaxy defender Jelle Van Damme.

The overall roster includes 16 repeat All-Stars and eight newcomers. Thirteen teams are represented.

The additional players with team affiliation:

Goalkeeper: Frei (Seattle Sounders FC).

Defenders: Hernán Grana (FC Dallas), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Johan Kappelhof (Chicago Fire), Michael Parkhurst (Atlanta United), Van Damme (LA Galaxy).

Midfielders: Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), McCarty (Chicago Fire), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), Valeri (Portland Timbers).

Forwards: Altidore (Toronto FC).