Newton High School boys' golf coach Joanie Pauls is looking for better course management from her team after a fifth-place finish Tuesday at the Newton Invitational at Sand Creek Station.

Bishop Carroll won the team title at 309, followed by Hutchinson at 311, Valley Center at 326, Arkansas City at 338 and Newton at 340.

"We struggled with our course management," Joanie Pauls said. "Most of the kids had a difficult hole.

Carter Towney of Bishop Carroll was the top medalist with a one-over par 73. Garrett Lyon of Valley Center was second at 75 and Jack Laham of Hutchinson was third at 76.

"I had three bogeys and three birdies," Towney said. "The birdies were back-to-back. They were on 15 and 16. I just played solid all day. I shot a lot of pars. I didn't have to hit a lot of drivers off the tee."

Towney and his Carroll teammates missed a state berth last year.

"We're hungry this year," he said. "This was our second tournament. At the (Carroll) Invitational, I shot an 84. It was at Auburn Hill, and it was blowing about 35 (mph). It was pretty good here today."

Newton was led by Avery Anderson, who was 13th at 81 to claim a medal.

"Avery started the season as out no. 1, but he was struggling a little," Joanie Pauls said. "I was glad to see him bounce back and get a medal today. He does one of the better jobs of keeping the ball in play. That helps him."

Cole Rother shot an 85, followed by Alex Rickard at 86, Max Brenneman at 88, Conner Mitchell at 95 and Tanner Pauls at 97.

"Alex had a triple (bogey) on hole 4 and then he bounced back and hit like four fours," Joanie Pauls said. "He shot well the rest of the front nine. On the back nine, he started out well. Then he was six or seven on his last three holes. Cole was the same way. He was five over on his first two holes, then settled down. He shot a 44 on the front and a 41 on the back. He putted well on the front and had four three-putts on the back. Tanner and Max are both freshmen. Tanner started out and had two out-of-bounds on his first four holes. Then he finished out the front nine OK. He finished with nine penalty strokes. It was a learning experience for him. Max putted pretty well. He's a good putter. He had a little trouble on 10 and 11. After that, he had bogeys and pars. Eighty-eight is a good score for a freshman. Conner was the same way. He played well in spurts.

"Our first two meets were on par 70 courses. This is a par 72. It's a much tougher course."

The Newton black squad finished 12th at 445. Jordyn Stevenson led the team at 98, followed by Michael Dinneen at 107, Hunter Posten at 117 and Trevor Duerksen at 123.

Newton competes April 25 at the Salina South Invitational at the Salina Municipal Golf Course, Newton's second trip to that course.

"We'll see more of the teams we'll see at regionals," Joanie Pauls said.

Newton Invitational


Sand Creek Station

Par 72

Bishop Carroll (309) — Carter Towey 73, Bobby Armstrong 84, Matt Sander 79, Max Iseman 78, Kirk Murphy 86, Levi Iseman 79.

Hutchinson (311) — Turner Wintz 77, Jack Lanham 76, Jack Howard 78, Kalen Hilst 84, Ross Howard 80, John Allen 86.

Valley Center (326) — Alan Joyal 84, Jestin Jackson 81, Garrett Lyon 75, Logan Burks 86, Nick Lawrence 117, Corbin Alderson 112.

Arkansas City (338) — Andrew Iverson 78, Jackson Rohr 90, Brock Dowler 85, Kayden Steiner 85, Dylan Cook 101, Jake Shaw 107.

Newton (340) — Alex Rickard 86, Cole Rother 85, Tanner Pauls 97, Max Brenneman 88, Avery Anderson 81, Conner Mitchell 95.

Derby (343) — Jeremy Dunham 86, Quincy Stith 83, Jeremy Rogers 87, Brandon Thompson 87, Treven Hunter 92, Isayah Beard 101.

McPherson (344) — Dylan Blosser 79, Jacob Lackey 91, C.J. Steiner 95, T.J. Stites 84, Casey Cheek 90, Kaden Warren 107.

Winfield (345) — Patrick Sawyer 89, Sam Berthholf 83, Dakota Soukup 88, Andy Burger 85, Dylan Snider 102.

Campus (376) — Colton Van Ness 93, Logan Kelly 93, Austin Manual 98, Tim Pitts 97, Konner Zimmerman 105, Mikey Kelly 93.

Salina Central (383) — Matt Grammer DQ, Brayden Neuschafer 86, Ty Brull 106, Nathan Poe 86, Jacob Liles 105, Nick Stuart 114.

Salina South (387) — Josh Reed 90, Lucas Renz 91, Andrew Haines 100, Brendan Borcherding 116, Tyler McElwee 106, Aaron Chapman 113.

Newton Gold (445) — Jordyn Stevenson 98, Michael Dinneen 107, Trevor Duerksen 123, Hunter Posten 117.

Medalists — 1. Carter Towey BC 73, 2. Garrett Lyon VC 75, 3. Jack Lanham H 76, 4. Turner Wintz H 77, 5. Max Iseman BC 78, 6. Andrew Iverson AC 78, 7. Jack Howard H 78, 8. Levi Iseman BC 79, 9. Matt Sander BC 79, 10. Dylan Blosser M 79, 11. Ross Howard H 80, 12. Jestin Jackson VC 81, 13. Avery Anderson N 81, 14. Sam Bertholf W 83, 15. Quincy Stith D 83.