Katelyn Sundquist of Newton recently won the advanced piano division of The Anderson Piano Concerto Auditions.

The Anderson Piano Concerto Auditions were in December at the Stringer Fine Arts Center at Hutchinson Community College. Adjudicating this year’s event was Dr. James Knight, professor of piano at Friends University. The instrumental division was held December 8, 2013 at the Hutchinson Art Center, with Nick Huck of Central Christian School, Hutchinson, adjudicating.

Sundquist studies piano with Dr. Sheila Litke, Professor of Piano at Tabor College. As a winner of the Advanced Piano Division, Sundquist will perform with the Hutchinson Symphony Orchestra during a Feb. 20 concert along with the winners of the Advanced Instrumental Division winners.

Elementary division winners were: first place: Helen Yong; second place: Emmie Kleinherenbrink; honorable mentions: Jonathan Fan, Mia Kramer and Tucker Robson.

Intermediate division winners were: first place: Kimberly Reiser; second place: Thomas Loewen and Jacob Engelland; honorable mentions: Damarcus Myer, Whitney White and Yvonne Riehl.

Advanced Piano division winners were: first place: Katelyn Sundquist; second place: Nicole Loewen; honorable mention: Tucker Rayl.

Advanced Instrumental division winners were: first place: Steven Robinson, clarinet, and Maryn Robson, French horn.

Participating teachers include: Judy Blauer, Jeanette Krenzin, Dr. Sheila Litke, Larry Brownlee, Katherine Stange and Jay Steiner.