Swim team

schedule changes

The Newton High School boys' swimming team dropped the scheduled meet for Jan. 28 at Great Bend and added a meet Jan. 21 at Derby.

Bethel signs

first recruit

Bethel College women's soccer coach Anthony Turini signed his first recruit for the 2014 season, Jessica Krestine of Blue Valley High School.

Krestine, a defender, helped lead Blue Valley to the regional finals, falling to eventual Class 6A state champion Blue Valley Northwest. Her team allowed just three goals last season.

"Jessica comes from a strong high school program and plays for a great club team" Turini said. "She is an outstanding student that will excell both academically and athletically while she is at Bethel. We could not be more excited to add Jessica to the women's soccer family."

"I felt like this college and campus would be a good fit for me," Krestine said. "Felt like home."

Krestine intends to major in athletic training at Bethel.

Newton grad

reaches nationals

TOPEKA — Newton High School grad Kelsi Langley is headed for the National Junior College Athletic Association Division I National Soccer Championships after the freshman at Butler Community College helped lead the Grizzlies to a Region VI championship Friday at Hummer Sports Park in Topeka.

Langley had 11 saves in goal as fifth-ranked Butler stopped ninth-ranked Johnson County Community College 4-0.

Langley also was named first-team All-Jayhawk Conference at goalkeeper.

Butler scored three goals in the second half.

Morgan Foster scored two goals for Butler. Madison Wedekind and Darci Nightingale each added a goal. Alyssia Salinas, Maddie Decker and Kelly Sutton each had an assist.

Butler held a 37-19 advantage in total shots, 19-11 in shots on goal.

Johnson County ended the season 17-3-1.

Butler is 21-2-1 and plays 13th-ranked Owens Community College (Ohio) at 4 p.m. Tuesday in Melbourne, Fla. Butler plays fourth-ranked Darton State College (Ga.) at 4 p.m. Wednesday.



WICHITA — Below is the 2013 All-Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference volleyball team as selected by the conference coaches:

First team

OPP Breanne Schultz*~, Kansas Wesleyan, 6-3, sr., New Braunfels, Texas

S Taylor Elkinton^~, Kansas Wesleyan, 5-6, jr., Wichita

DS Bailey Burnett, Friends, 5-8, jr., Rose Hill

DS Giselle De Moura, Sterling, 5-8, jr., Franca, Brazil

OH/MH Crystal Taporco*~, Friends, 6-0, sr., Wichita

OH Hayley Ray^~, Sterling, 6-0, so., Derby

MB Nicole Gingery*~, Ottawa, 5-10, sr., Lincoln, Neb.

OH Katie Kaufman*~, Tabor, 5-11, sr., Moundridge

S Hollister Wolf*~, Tabor, 5-4, sr., Moundridge

MH Taylor Klover^~, Kansas Wesleyan, 6-1, jr., Hiawatha

MB Allie Arnold^, Ottawa, 5-9, jr., Grand Island, Neb.

OH Ciara Lawson^~, Friends, 5-9, sr., Justin, Texas

OH Tori Phelan, McPherson, 5-11, jr., Rangely, Colo.

*-2012 First team

^-2012 Second team

~-2013 KCAC volleyball preseason team

2013 Unanimous Selections in Italics

Second team

MH Maria Bujanda^~, Bethany, sr., Salina

OH Tena Loewen, Tabor, 5-11, fr., Hillsboro

S-RS Hayley Young, Friends, 5-8, jr., Douglas

S Nicole Lund, Friends, 5-10, sr., Wichita

OH Lauren Chamness, Kansas Wesleyan, 5-10, sr., Littleton, Colo.

OPP Melissa Blair, Kansas Wesleyan, 6-1, jr., Phillipsburg

OH-MH Cortlyn Huppe, McPherson, 6-1, so., Florence, Colo.

S Rachel Phillips, McPherson, 5-6, sr., Maize

OH Taylor Bridge, Ottawa, 5-10, sr., Lancaster, Calif.

MB Becca Colson, Ottawa, 6-0, sr., Kansas City

OH Taylor Sisneros, Southwestern, 5-7, sr., Loveland, Colo.

OH Jessie Vogts^, Tabor, 6-0, sr., Moundridge

Honorable mention

OH Bryanna Cool, Bethany, so., Glasco

OPP Katie Regier, Bethel, 5-8, sr., Whitewater

MH Claire McStravick, Bethel, 6-3, jr., Dallas, Texas

OH Jordan Gray^~, Bethel, 6-0, sr., Sedgwick

DS Ila Sturges, Friends, 5-9, sr., Ashland, Ore.

DS Marlene Yang, Kansas Wesleyan, 5-1, sr., Kansas City

OH/RS Taylor Johnson, McPherson, 5-9, fr., Valley Center

S Lindsey Widen, Ottawa, 5-9, fr., Concordia

DS Allie Massanet, Saint Mary, -, fr., Manhattan

S Danielle Dowdy, Saint Mary, -, so., De Soto

OH Chasity Clark, Southwestern, 6-1, jr., Wichita

S Jenna Arlow, Sterling, 5-5, so., Palmer, Alaska

DS Amy Jo Maphet, Tabor, 5-5, sr., Pratt

Coach of the year — Fred Aubuchon, Kansas Wesleyan

Player of the year — Breanne Schultz, Kansas Wesleyan

Setter of the year — Taylor Elkinton, Kansas Wesleyan

Co-liberos of the year — Bailey Burnett, Friends; Giselle DeMoura, Sterling

Freshman of the year — Tena Loewen, Tabor

Assistant coach of the year — Chrissie Jeanin, Ottawa


Wedgewood Senior Men

1. Paul Normandin, Myron Chafee, Gene May, Dewayne Morgan -6.

2. Rick Hardacre, Don Yoder, Bob Schmidt, Don Bastin, Sam Griffin -5.

3. Bob Wilson, Dick Holobeck, Joe Ryan, Wil Besore -4.

Closest to pin 3 — Dale Dick. Closest to pin 8 — DeWayne Morgan.

Next play — 1 p.m. Thursday.

Fox Ridge Senior Men

1. Joe Ryan, DeWayne Morgan, Fred Nibargwer, Gene Nelson 32.

2. Gene McKasson, Gary Eilert, Narci Larez, Brad Smith 32.

3. Dave Stallbaumer, Wil Besore, Don Schmidt, Berle Higgins 33.

Closest to hole 3 — Narci Larez. Longest putt on 9 — Bob Wilson.

Next play — 11 a.m. Monday.