Bethel women

fall to Midland

The Bethel College women's basketball team was held to 11 of 41 shooting from the field in a 67-36 loss to Midland University Friday at home in non-conference play.

Bethel trailed 40-13 at the half.

The Threshers were just one of 10 from the 3-point line and 13 of 24 from the free throw line. Bethel committed 33 turnovers in the game.

Midland stats were not reported at press time. The Warriors improve to 2-1.

For Bethel, April Harpe led the Threshers with six points. Mekale Chapple had eight rebounds.

Bethel falls to 1-2 and hosts eighth-ranked (NAIA Division II) Oklahoma Wesleyan at 5 p.m. today.

Hesston soph

to compete

HESSTON — Hesston College sophomore runner Josh Landis will compete at the National Junior College Athletic Association Division I Cross Country Championships today at the Lakeside Municipal Golf Course in Fort Dodge, Iowa.

“Josh has run well this year and has consistently been our number one runner,” Hesston cross country coach Gerry Sieber said. “He’s had a nice career at Hesston and has earned the right to compete at the national tournament.”

The race is set to start at 11 a.m.

Thunder falls

to Missouri

INDEPENDENCE, Mo. — The Wichita Thunder fell to 1-6-3 after a 4-1 loss to the Missouri Mavericks Friday in Central Hockey League play at the Independence Events Center.

Missouri scored three goals in the second period, and added a goal in the third.

Colt King scored two goals for the Mavericks. Colten Hayes and Andrew Courtney each added a goal. Eight different players posted assists.

Jared Walker scored Wichita's lone goal. Andrew Martens and Jon Booras had assists.

Shane Owens had 24 saves in goal for Missouri, 7-0-0. Torrie Jung had 22 saves for Wichita.

The two teams meet again at 7:05 p.m. today at Intrust Bank Arena.

Hooper to manage

AA All-Stars

WICHITA — Wichita Wingnuts manager Kevin Hooper has been named the field manager for the 2014 American Association All-Star Game.

Hooper was named along with Gary SouthShore manager Greg Tagert. The game format has not been decided.

The game will be July 29 at Shaw Park in Winnipeg, which won the North Division last season.

Hooper has led the Wingnuts to the AA Championship Series in each of the past two seasons.


Wedgewood Senior Men

1. Bob Wilson, Gene Hartford, Dick Morrison, Rick Hardacre, Gib Toman -3.

2. Paul Normandin, Jack Bender, Joe Ryan, Don Yoder -2.

3. Ray Ruggles, Gene May, Jerry Schmidt, Ray Ashford -2.

Closest to pin 3 — Bob Modena. Closest to pin 9 on second shot — Don Bastin.

Next play — 1 p.m. Thursday.