Legion zone

tourney changed

Monday's games in the American Legion Class A, Zone 6 Tournament were rained out.

The revised schedule is listed below:


Game 1: 3, Winfield (19-5) vs. 6. Clearwater (5-22) 3 p.m.

Game 2: 4. McPherson (19-7) vs. 5. Salina (10-14) 1/2 hr. after game 1

Game 4: Winfield-Clearwater winner vs. 1. Andover (20-4) 1/2 hr. after game 2


Game 3: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser 3 3 p.m.

Game 5: McPherson-Salina winner vs. 2. Newton (22-5) 1/2 hr. after game 3

Game 6: Game 4 loser vs. Game 5 loser 1/2 hr. after game 5


Game 8: Game 3 winner vs. Game 6 winner 3 p.m.

Game 7: Game 4 winner vs. Game 5 winner 1/2 hr. after game 8

Game 9: Game 8 winner vs. Game 7 loser 1/2 hr. after game 7


Championship game one 6 p.m.

Championship game two (if necessary) 1/2 hr. after championship game one

Field set

for Shrine race

TOPEKA — The field has been set for the sixth annual Shrine Bowl Cross Country race at Washburn University in Topeka.

Sixty recent high school graduate cross country runners have been selected, including Burrton High School's Trae Lane, who will be running for the West boys.

“They have a different motivation than football and basketball players,” race director Joe Schrag, head coach at Topeka West High School said. “They work just as hard. It just so happens their event doesn’t have quite the fan appeal as other team sports, so they don’t get as much notoriety. This is an opportunity to get their names in the paper, and to be seen in a running situation.”

There will also be an open two-mile run for members of the public. Registration for the open race begins at 6 p.m. at the starting line, located to the south of the Student Recreation and Wellness Center at Washburn.

Registration for the open race is available by calling the Shrine Bowl office at (785) 530-5524, or by going to the Web site www.kansasshrinebowl.com.

The Shrine Bowl Cross Country roster is listed below:


Jennifer Angles, St. Thomas Aquinas

Maddie Hopfinger, St. Thomas Aquinas

Michaela Krzesinslai, Shawnee Mission North

Mackenzie Madsen, Olathe South

Emily McEntire, Lawrence

Leah Murata, Horton

Kathryn Pamperin, Olathe Northwest

Sarah Pimentel, Hayden

Jamie Radakovich, St. James Academy

Gay Riley, Olathe East

Emily Schoenfeld, Topeka

Danelle Topil, Eudora

Alexa Van Lerberg, St. James Academy

Paige White, Baxter Springs

Ariane Wright, Olathe Northwest


Jonathan Adamson, Pittsburg St. Mary's-Colgan

Daniel Aiken, St. Thomas Aquinas

Bradley Borger, Wamego

Nick Boyles, St. Thomas Aquinas

Jason Foster, Shawnee Mission North

Jeremiah Jones, Pittsburg

T.J. Kimbrough-French, Bonner Springs

Lukas Koch, Centralia

Jack Luther, St. Thomas Aquinas

Drake Mahoney, Burlington

Brent Patton, Wamego

Steven Porter, Cherokee-Southeast

Jordon Routh, Wamego

James Steury, Olathe South


Alexa Ammerman, Derby

Kaelyn Balch, Bishop Carroll

Elizabeth Benoit, Palco

McKayla Crawford, Wichita North

Megan Doyle, Belle Plain

Kaylee Engle, Chase County

Jenna Farris, Lincoln

Kamilla Jones, Norton Community

Julia Kent, Norton Community

Katie Lambert, Concordia

Destyni Lucero, Liberal

Kaylah Romine, Pratt

Heather Ruder, Thomas More Prep-Marian

Emily VanNatta, Manhattan

Mackenzie Wills, Andover Central


Ren Bean, Mulvane

Wyatt Beckman, Ness City

Chon Chavez, Great Bend

Derek Drees, Hays

Garrett Fox, Clay County Community

Daniel Frazier, Liberal

Cordell Goering, Hutchinson Trinity

Trenton Kuhlman, Republic County

Trae Lane, Burrton

Brandon Lewis, Derby

Jacob Martin, Hugoton

Raul Pantoja, Stanton County

Patrick Weaver, Hugoton

Troy Wineinger, Greeley County

Jublain Wohler, Victoria


J.J. Wanamaker, Shawnee Mission South


Justin Wrigley, St. Thomas Aquinas

Mike Pope, Wichita North

Mike Horton, Stanton County

Brenda Peschel, Axtell