Rebels drop

game at Hutch

HUTCHINSON — The Newton Rebels dropped a 6-5 decision Friday in Walter Johnson League play against Hutchinson at Hobart-Detter Field.

Newton led 5-4, but gave up two runs in the bottom of the seventh inning in the loss.

Newton was led by Toby Cornejo, who went three for five hitting with three runs scored. Nick Kolley and Gene Nanney each went two for four with two RBIs. Evan Thomas added an RBI.

For Hutchinson, Josh Kunzmann went two for four with two RBIs. Quentin Crandall went two for five. Zenon Kolakowski drove in a run.

Storm Marlar took the loss for Newton, allowing two earned runs on seven hits with a walk and two strikeouts. Nathan Briar and Tyler Bishop each pitched an inning.

Hutchinson starter Jake Jewell went 4 2-3 innings, allowing five runs on nine hits with a walk and five strikeouts. Tyler Bratton finished the game for the win, allowing one hit and striking out three.

Newton falls to 12-9, 11-9 in WJL play. Newton plays at 7 p.m. today at Valley Center and hosts Topeka at 3 p.m. Sunday for a twinbill. Admission to Sunday's game is free with a church bulletin. There will be a concert following the game.

Newton 102 020 000 —5 10 4

Hutchinson 010 030 20x —6 10 1

Marlar (L), Briar 7, Bishop 8 and n/a; Jewell, Bratton (W) 5 and n/a.

Wingnuts down

Sioux City

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — Wichita Wingnut pitcher Junior Guerra pitched 7 1-3 innings, allowing no runs on five hits with two walks and nine strikeouts in a 2-0 win over the Sioux City Explorers Friday in American Association road play.

Daniel Bennett and Josh Dew each pitched in relief to maintain the shutout. Each struck out one. Dew posted the save.

Dan Jurik took the loss, striking out six in six innings. Cody Satterwhite struck out three in two innings. Chris Bodishbaugh also threw an inning for Sioux City.

Jake Kahaulelio and C.J. Ziegler each hit a solo home run in the top of the first to provide the offense for Wichita. Abel Nevens had two hits. Luke Murton went two for three for Sioux City.

Wichita improves to 23-12. Sioux City falls to 14-20. The series continues at 7:05 p.m. today.

Wichita 200 000 000 —2 7 1

Sioux C. 000 000 00 —0 5 0

Guerra (W, 4-0), Bennett 8, Dew (S, 6) 9 and Armstrong; Jurik (L, 1-4), Satterwhite 7, Bodishbaugh 9 and Espinoza. HR — W: Kahaulelio (9), Ziegler (13). Time — 2:47. Attendance — 837.

Moss takes

CPIFL award

LAWRENCE — The Wichita Wild's Matt Moss was named the Champions Professional Indoor Football League Defensive player of the year for the 2013 season.

Moss led the league with 13.5 sacks and 19.5 tackles for a loss. The team had 39 sacks for the season, nine more than any other team.

Salina quarterback Dane Simoneau was named offensive player of the year. O.J. Simpson of Kansas City was named special teams player of the year. Patrick Jones of Oklahoma was named offensive rookie of the year. DeWayne Autrey of Salina was the defensive rookie of the year.

Bob Frey of Salina was named coach of the year.

Wichita hosts Salina at 7:05 p.m. today in Champions Bowl I.