PARK CITY — The Newton High School wrestling team put four wrestlers in the semifinals after the first day of competition at the Class 5A state championships at Hartman Arena.?The Railers are in fourth place after the first day of competition. Arkansas City leads the pack with 83 points, followed by St. James Academy at 66, Shawnee Heights at 57, Newton at 50 and Great Bend at 47.5.?The Railers went 5-6 in the first round and 4-1 in the quarterfinals. Nine of Newton’s 11 wrestlers remain in competition.?Quinton Harrison opened the day at 126 pounds with a second-period pin against Jay Pacha of Bishop Carroll. In the quarterfinals, Harrison scored a takedown with backpoints in the first period against Luke Henes of St. Thomas Aquinas. Harrison added a reversal in the second and third periods for a 9-0 major decision, advancing to this morning’s semifinals.?At 170 pounds, Jared Langley took an early lead and held on for a 5-1 first-round win over Christopher Dugan of Bishop Carroll. In the quarterfinals against Emporia’s Joseph Monrroy, Langley scored a takedown and two near falls in the first period. He added a takedown in the second period. He rode Monrroy out in the third period, getting awarded a penalty point for a 10-0 major decision and a trip to this morning’s quarterfinals.?At 195 pounds, Dillon Archer opened with a second-perlod pin over Peter Coelho of St. James Academy.?At heavyweight, Garret Lee scored a takedown midway in the first period against Trevon Wallace of Kansas City Schlagle, going on for a first-period pin. In the semifinals, Lee fell behind 1-0 to Darin Feist of St. James Academy early in the second period, but came back with a takedown, some backpoints and a pin.?At 220 pounds, Raymond Gallegos trailed Nate Stanley of Topeka Seaman 1-0 after two periods. In the third period, Gallegos scored a reversal and rode Stanley out for more than a minute to claim a 2-1 win. In the quarterfinals, Gallegos scored a penalty point against Arkansas City’s Dylan Cox, but gave up a near fall Cox scored two escapes to Gallegos’ takedown in the third period, holding on for a 5-3 win. Gallegos advances to the consolation quarterfinals, needing a win to clinch a medal.?At 138 pounds, Newton’s Anthony Monares took a 6-1 lead late into the third against Bishop Carroll’s Joel Sponsel. Sponsel then turned Monares and pinned him with four seconds left in the period. In the first consolation round, Monares pinned Trevor Watson of Blue Valley Southwest to advance to the consolation quarterfinals.?At 152 pounds, Newton’s Peter Nelson took a 3-1 lead against Emporia’s Nolan Kirmer, but Kirmer took the lead by the third period and held on for a 9-7 decision. Nelson came back in the first consolation round to pin Jared Brown of Andover early in the second period.?At 160 pounds, Newton’s Heydon Mock lost an 8-5 decision to Tilden Edwards of Leavenworth. In the first consolation round, Mock blanked Kason Clark of Kansas City Turner 7-0.?At 182 pounds, Newton’s Noah Ornelas dropped an 8-0 major decision to Rasheed Brady of Shawnee Mission South. In the first consolation round, Ornelas edged Alex Breckenridge of Arkansas City 4-3.?At 106 pounds, Trevor Pryor was pinned in the first period by Landon Scott of Mill Valley. In the first consolation round, Pryor dropped a 10-5 decision to Zac Campbell of Topeka West. Pryor ends the season 15-17.?Tied 2-2 at 145 pounds, Newton’s Garrett McEachern was taken down and pinned with 14 seconds left in the second period by St. James Academy’s Ben VanLerberg. In the consolation first round, McEachern dropped a 3-1 decision in the tie-break phase to Devin Moore of Bishop Carroll. McEachern ends the season 8-7?Competition resumes at 9 a.m. today.

Class 5A State Wrestling?Team scores — Arkansas City 83, St. James Academy 66, Shawnee Heights 57, Newton 50, Great Bend 47.5, Valley Center 46.5, Topeka Seaman 46, Andover Central 40.5, St. Thomas Aquinas 37.5, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel 36, Emporia 30, Blue Valley Southwest 30, Leavenworth 27, Salina Central 25, Goddard 24, Bishop Carroll 24, Mill Valley 18, Shawnee Mission South 16, Hays 15.5, Salina South 14, Kansas City Turner 12, Andover 11.5, Wichita West 10, Maize South 8, Liberal 6, Lansing 4.5, Bishop Miege 3, Kansas City Harmon 1, Kansas City Washington 1, Topeka West 1, Goddard Eisenhower 0, Kansas City Schlagle 0.?Newton results?106 — Trevor Pryor (0-2): 1. L Landon Scott MV 1:38; C1. L Zac Campbell TW 10-5.?126 — Quinton Harrison (2-0): 1. W Jay Pacha BC 2:45; QF. Luke Henes STA 9-0 maj.dec.?138 — Anthony Monares (1-1): 1. L Joel Sponsel BC 3:56; C1. W Trevor Watson BVSW 1:30.?145 — Garrett McEachern (0-2): 1. L Ben VanLerberg SJA 3:44; C1. L Devin Moore BC 3-1 TB1.?152 — Peter Nelson (1-1): 1. L Nollan Kirmer Emp. 9-7; C1. W Jared Brown And. 2:08.?160 — Heydon Mock (1-1): 1. L Tilden Edwards Leav. 8-5; C1. W Kason Clark KC Turn. 7-0.?170 — Jared Langley (2-0): 1. W Christopher Dugan BC 5-1; QF. W Joseph Monroy Emp. 10-0 maj.dec.?182 — Noah Ornelas (1-1): 1. L Rasheed Brady SMS 8-0 maj.dec.; C1. W Alex Breckenridge Ark.Ct. 4-3.?195 — Dillon Archer (2-0): 1. W Peter Coelho SJA 3:34; QF. W Malcolm Pink Ark.Ct. 1:47.?220 — Raymond Gallegos (1-1): 1. W Nate Stanley T.Sea. 2-1; QF. L Dylan Cox Ark.Ct. 5-3.?HWT — Garret Lee (2-0): 1. W Trevor Wallace KC Sum. 1:45; QF. W Darin Feist SJA 3:31.