GREAT BEND — The Newton High School wrestling team will send 11 of 14 wrestlers to the Class 5A state meet after a first-place finish at the regionals Saturday in Great Bend. Newton edged Valley Center 178.5-158.5. Great Bend was third at 149, followed by Salina South at 99, Maize South at 86, Salina Central at 69, Hays at 55 and Liberal at 50.5. Six Railer wrestlers reached the finals, with three winning titles. Newton wrestlers won all five consolation final matches. At 126 pounds, Quinton Harrison finished first. In the championship match, Harrison downed Chris Burley of Great Bend 3-1. Harrison enters state competition 27-7. At 170 pounds, Jared Langley won the title at 3-0. In the finals, Langley pinned Tyler McGaha of Salina South in 3:13. Langley enters state competition 33-5. At heavyweight, Garrett Lee finished first. In the finals, Lee pinned Zac Sander of Valley Center in 1:05. Lee enters state competition 32-6. At 145 pounds, Garrett McEachern finished second. In the finals, McEachern fell to Dalton Peters of Salina Central 6-0. McEachern enters state competition 8-5. At 195 pounds, Dillon Archer finished second. In the finals, Archer fell Preston Weigel of Hays 5-0. Archer enters state 32-2 with both losses to Weigel. At 220 pounds, Raymond Gallegos finished second. In the finals, Gallegos fell to Kade True of Salina Central 1-0. Gallegos enters state 31-7. At 106 pounds, Trevor Pryor lost in the first round, but won his next two matches to place third and qualify for state. In the consolation finals, Pryor pinned Randall Bates of Salina South in 49 seconds. Bates beat Pryor in the first round. Pryor enters state competition 15-15. At 138 pounds, Anthony Monraes finished third, winning in the consolation finals against Jared Hydock of Maize South by fall in the first period. Monares finished state competition 14-6. At 152 pounds, Peter Nelson finished third. In the consolation finals, Nelson downed Leroy Franco of Hays 8-4. Nelson enters state competition 13-8. At 160 pounds, Heydon Mock fiinished third. In the consolation finals, Mock pinned Josh Moyer of Maize South in 1:37. Mock enters state competition 30-12. At 182 pounds, Noah Ornelas finished third. In the consolation finals, Ornelas downed Joe Lindenberger of Great Bend 7-1. Ornelas enters state 20-12. At 113 pounds, Eliseo Torres finished 1-2, one win shy of a state berth. At 132 pounds, Gabe Torres finished 1-2, one win shy of a state berth. Eliseo Torres ends the season 13-17. Gabe Torres ends the season 8-7. At 120 pounds, Jeremy Christiansen finished 0-2. Christiansen ends the season 1-7. The state tournament is Friday and Saturday at Hartman Arena.

Class 5A Regionals at Great Bend Team scores — Newton 178, Valley Center 158.5, Great Bend 149, Salina South 99, Maize South 86, Salina Central 69, Hays 55, Liberal 50.5.

Newton results 106 — 3. Trevor Pryor (3-1): QF. L Randall Bates SS 4-1, CQF. W Nate LaPorte Hys. 1:20, CSF. W Ryan DesLauriers GB 4:59, CF. W Randall Bates SS :49. 113 — Eliseo Torres (1-2): QF. L Brice Garcia MS 3-0, CQF. W Oscar Garcia Lib. 3:55, CSF. L D’Khyale McFarland SC 15-2 maj.dec. 120 — Jeremy Christiansen (0-2): QF. L Cody Liles GB 1:57, CQF. L Kyler Thompson Lib. 2:38. 126 — 1. Quinton Harrison (2-0): QF. bye, SF. W Jaysten McClure MS 7-0, F. W Chris Burley GB 3-1. 132 — Gabe Torres (1-2): QF. L Cody Smith Lib. 6-0, CQF. W Aaron Akers SC 1:42, CSF. L David Ortiz VC 4-3. 138 — 3. Anthony Monares (3-1): QF. W Kaleb Garibaldi SS 1:07, SF. L Dayton Will SC 6-2, CSF. W Cade Albert Hys. 2:06, CF. W Jared Hydock MS 1:28. 145 — 2. Garrett McEachern (2-1): QF. W Brett Roberts GB 4-1, SF. W Ayodale Briamah Lib. 5-3, F. L Dalton Peters SC 6-0. 152 — 3. Peter Nelson (3-1): QF. W John McNabb SS 12-5, SF. L Josh Ortiz VC 4-3, CSF. W Emerson Campbell GB 8-2, CF. W LeRoy Franco Hys. 8-4. 160 — 3. Heydon Mock (3-1): QF. bye, SF. L Tony Bluml VC 5:44, CSF. W Clay Drylie Hys. 10-0 maj.dec., CF. Josh Moyer MS 1:37. 170 — 1. Jared Langley (3-0): QF. W Jack Helvey SC 1:26, SF. W Darion Yager GB 12-0 maj.dec., F. W Tyler McGaha SS 3:13. 182 — 3. Noah Ornelas (3-1): QF. W Joe Lindenberger GB 5-0, SF. L Chad Blair VC 9-1, CSF. W Joe Pfeifer Hys. 6-1, CF. W Joe Lindenberger GB 7-1. 195 — 2. Dillon Archer (2-1): QF. W Corey Sibley VC 16-0 tech.fall, SF. W Mike Shirk SS 5-2, F. L Preston Weigel Hys. 5-0. 220 — 2. Raymond Gallegos (2-1): QF. W Jacob Funschelle MS 1:04, SF. W Alex Parker SS 2:38, F. L Kade True SC 1-0. HWT — 1. Garrett Lee (3-0): QF. W Sergio Borjas Lib. 3-2, SF. W Vincent Scott Hys. 1:06, F. W Zac Sander VC 1:05.