The Newton Wrestling Club hosted more than 600 wrestlers from 42 clubs at the annual Newton Invitational Saturday at Ravenscroft Gym. There was an open competition and a novice competition. The Newton club had 55 wrestlers compete, finishing with eight first-place finishers and eight second-place finishes. “We had a very solid performance on Saturday,” NWC coach Matt Treaster said. “I was especially pleased with the performance of Kaden Davis, who took first place in a very strong bracket.” In his first match, Davis claimed a 6-5 decision against David Flores of Hutchinson. In his secon second match he won a 7-5 decision in sudden death overtime against Luke Stone of Emporia. After winning his third and fourth matches by a major decision and a technical fall respectively, he downed Riley Smith of Buhler 4-1 in the championship match. “Kaden is a real hard worker in the practice room and it was nice to see him win several close, tough matches,” added Treaster. The club will compete Saturday at Minneapolis in the Ottawa County Open Tournament. Sunday, the first year club wrestlers will compete in the Derby Novice Championships.

Newton Tournament Results First Place: Kaden Davis, Brody Roberson, Nick Treaster, Grant Treaster, Logan Treaster, Jonah Remsberg, Josh Edson, Cole Chalashtari Second Place: Zach Engelken, Jett Brackeen, Jacob Bruner, Kadin Mapes, Alayna Frazier, Eddy Southern, Malachi Holmes, Connor Hultman Third Place: James Johnson, Keagan Rousseau, Caleb Waltner, Colby Beer, Wyatt Mayes, Colton Waltner, Dylan McBee, Colin Bybee, Gage Llamas, Sawyer Mock, Griffin Davis, Braiden Botterweck, Devin Delforge, Sid Simmons, Keon Edwards, Jonathan Chavez, Gavin Cusick, Bryan Cusick, Bobby Southern, Micheal Davis Fourth Place: Major Giles, Karter Gonzalez, Kolby Clanton, Hunter Mapes, Jett Roberts, Laketon Bisoni, Caleb Anderson, Zion Younts, Trevor Waldrop, Kaleb Diaz, Bailey Hosford, Skyler Botterweck Fifth Place: Troy Orpin, Matt Orpin, Joseph Denes, John Wells Sixth Place: Eli Kirtley, Brady Moses