Newton Kansan

The Newton High School wrestling team did not want to share — at least not the Ark Valley-Chisholm Trail League Division I title.

Newton ended the regular season unbeaten in dual meets, stopping Salina South 49-17. Newton end the season 9-0, 6-0 in AV-CTL I duals. Newton runs its dual meet winning streak to 21 straight, 15 in league duals.

“The kids came out and wrestled really pretty tough,” Newton coach Jude Wilson said. “I felt like Salina South came out and wrestled pretty well. I felt like we wrestled pretty well. We were not without mistakes. We had some mistakes that were pretty costly. Both sides were after a victory. I feel pretty good about the meet.”

South finishes 4-2 in dual meets. The Cougars needed to win the meet to tie for the league title with Newton and Derby. Newton wins back-to-back league titles for the first time since the 1971-72 and 72-73 seasons.

“It took a lot from the kids (to finish undefeated in duals).” Wilson said. “You have to have the kids wrestle well. You have to have them in the right weight classes. We just have a great bunch of kids. They are all spread out in all the weight classes. This makes for a very good dual team.”

Newton opened the meet with Trevor Pryor getting a pin over South’s Randall Bates at the second-period buzzer at 106 pounds.

At 126 pounds, Quinton Harrison scored four first-period takedowns against South’s Blaise Albers, before scoring the pin in the second period. At 132 pounds, Gabe Torres took an early lead and scored a second-period pin over Tyler Winter.

At 138 pounds, Earnest Johns jumped to a 4-2 lead over South’s Kaleb Garibaldi, holding on for an 8-4 decision. John Jurado followed at 145 pounds with a third-period pin over South’s Toby Schamberger.

At 170 pounds, Newton’s Jared Langley gave up an early takedown against South’s Tyler McGaha, but Langley controlled the rest of the match for an 8-2 decision. At 195 pounds, Newton’s Dillon Archer took a 3-0 lead over South’s Mike Shirk in the second period, giving up two escapes in a 3-2 win.

Newton finished the action on the mat at 220 pounds, where Raymond Gallegos posted a major decision over South’s Alex Parker.

“It was nice to win some of the close ones,” Wilson said. “Sometimes, you hope to win by a little wider margin. South wrestled us well at those spots. We tried to wrestle smart and get the win.”

South was open at 160 pounds and heavyweight, giving forfeit wins to Heydon Mock and Garrett Lee respectively.

At 113 pounds, Newton’s Eliseo Torres gave up a major decision to Tyler Irwin. At 120 pounds, Newton’s Jeremy Christianson was pinned by Josiah Endreshak. At 152 pounds, Newton’s Peter Nelson dropped a major decision to John McNabb. At 182 pounds, Noah Ornelas dropped a decision to South’s Tanner O’Donnell.

Newton is off until 9 a.m. Feb. 16 when the Railers compete at the Class 5A regional in Great Bend. Also competing are Great Bend, Hays, Liberal, Maize South, Salina Central, Salina South and Valley Center. The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to state the following weekend at Hartman Arena.

“Our kids can’t overlook anybody,” Wilson said. “We have a very tough regional — very competitive. Our kids just have to be focused on the right things. They need tunnel vision as far as knowing what they want. They have to put it out there to win. Their attitude in practice will be important.”

Newton 49, Salina South 17

106 — Trevor Pryor N pinned Randall Bates SS 4:00. 113 — Tyler Irwin SS maj.dec. Eliseo Torres N 13-2. 120 — Josiah Endreshak SS pinned Jeremy Christianson N 3:07. 126 — Quinton Harrison N pinned Blaise Albers SS 3:34. 132 — Gabe Torres N pinned Tyler Winter SS 3:35. 138 — Earnest Johns N dec. Kaleb Garibaldi SS 8-4. 145 — John Jurado N pinned Toby Schamberger SS 5:33. 152 — John McNabb SS maj.dec. Peter Nelson N 10-1. 160 — Heydon Mock N won by forfeit. 170 — Jared Langley N dec. Tyler McGaha SS 8-2. 182 — Tanner O’Donnell SS dec. Noah Ornelas N 10-3. 195 — Dillon Archer N dec. Mike Shirk SS 3-2. 220 — Raymond Gallegos N maj.dec. Alex Parker SS 10-1 . HWT — Garrett Lee N won by forfeit.

Junior varsity

138 — Brennan Barger N dec. Andy Sithara SS 2-0. 145 — Jordan Palmer N pinned Jordan Whittenburg SS 2:54. 170 — Tanner Barrett SS pinned Cordell Clark N 5:03. 126 — Robert Lyles N pinned Cory Peckham SS 1:12. 152 — Brett Hilkemann SS pinned Maia Cuellar N :38. 160 — Eli Schremmer SS pinned Adunai Guzman-Garza N 4:21. 182 — Elias Martinez N pinned Cocy Carnes SS 5:24. 220 — Cristian Diaz N pinned Cameron Carty SS 2:34. 126 — Andrew Gihring N pinned Peckham SS 1:16. 152 — Joseph McGarvey N pinned Hilkemann SS 1:33. 160 — Schremmer SS pinned Justin McBeth N 13-8. 170 — Carnes SS pinned Austin Murphy N :26. 195 — Malcolm Engstrom N pinned Carty SS :55. 113 — Justice Grant N pinned Caleb Orr SS 2:36. 113 — Nathan Endreshak SS pinned Caleb Nelson N 5:34. 120 — D.J. Weir SS dec. Jarrett Rodriguez N 8-2.


Final standings

League Overall


Newton 6-0 9-0

Derby 5-1 8-3

S.South 4-2 8-2

Hutch. 3-3 n-a

Campus 2-4 9-17

S.Central 1-5 1-5

Maize 0-6 1-11