The field is set for area school board and city commission races for the April 2 election. Many candidates waited until the last minute, and the county clerk's office was busy Tuesday morning taking applications.

As of last Friday there were two candidates for Newton City Commission, but by Tuesday's deadline eight candidates had filed.

Newton incumbents Willis Heck and Ken Hall did not file for reelection. Glen Davis did file for reelection. Davis and seven others will vie for three seats on the commission. The remaining candidates are Dan Inskeep, Ronald Eggert, Bob Smyth, Wayne Valentine, Leroy Koehn, Marshall Kendrick and Loni Jensen.

For the Newton school board, three incumbents filed for reelection, and three newcomers filed. There will be six going for three at large positions. Candidates are: incumbents Barbara Bunting, Renee Erickson and Randy Zohn; newcomers are Chris Ross, Dick Koontz and Colby Roberson.

In North Newton five people have filed for three at large seats. The candidates are Theodore "Jim" Goering, Jane Schmidt, Gregg Dick, Kurt Friesen and Gwen Neufeld.

There is at least one candidate for every position, but several in the county will be running unopposed.

In Burrton, Halstead and Hesston mayor and city commission races have only one candidate for every position.

In Burton Clark Kirk has filed for mayor. Chris Wilhite, Rodney Redinger and Bonnie Meyer will run for three at large positions. Six people have filed for three positions on Burrton's USD 369 school board. Candidates are Karl Matlack, John Pohlman, Nancy Schmitt, Stan Blasi, Kenneth Dalke and Sara Critchfield.

In Halstead William Ewert is on the ballot for mayor. Ed Campbell, Dennis Travis and Roger Lowery are running for three at large spots. Three candidates are running for three positions on the school board in Halstead. Eugene Haydock in position four, Cory Harrington in position five, and Kevin Wilson in position six.

At Hesston David Kauffman is the only candidate for mayor. Brad Unruh and Jason Jones are listed for two commission seats. In Hesston, Zach Weaver, Kathy Varney, Corissa Russell and Layne Frick are running for three at large positions on the school board. Michael Weber and Brian Becker are running for a partial at large term.

In Sedgwick three people have filed for the mayor position. Incumbent Donald DeHaven will be challenged by Rodney Eggleston and Jon Jenson. Two candidates are listed for city council. Thomas Noone and Lynne Vigil are the candidates. In Sedgwick three candidates will be running for three positions on the school board. Those candidates are Kelley DeGraffenreid for position four, Bryan Thompson for position five and Beth Fields for position six.

In Walton incumbent Evan Johnson will go against John Reed for the mayor position. Alan Heine, Robert Brady and Jeremy Ashby are running for two city council seats.