While this year's presidential election was a close race, several local races were close, as well.
Carolyn McGinn, R-Sedgwick, narrowly defeated Gary Mason, R-Valley Center, in a hotly contested Republican primary for the Kansas State Senate District 31 seat. McGinn was unopposed in the general election.
In Harvey County, McGinn won 2,603 to 1,731 — grabbing 60 percent of the vote. The final tally, with Sedgwick County numbers, was 4,712 to 3,831. She topped Mason by a 10 percent margin, 55 to 45 percent, in the final numbers.
McGinn thanked Harvey County residents, whose votes helped her to win the election.
“Eight years ago I was seen as a Sedgwick County resident, even though my community is a Harvey County community," she said. "I worked hard to get the support of the citizens of Harvey County, and I have made a lot of friends in Harvey County.”
In the State Representative 72nd District race, incumbent Republican Marc Rhoades defeated Democrat Glenda Reynolds.
At the county government level, voters elected Randy Hague to Harvey County Commission District No. 2. Hague defeated incumbent Marge Roberson, who lost in the primary but conducted a write-in campaign.
“I’m ready to give the people what they want and roll up my sleeves and get to work,” Hague said. Some of the main issues he said he hoped to address as a commissioner were the reduction of discretionary spending and dealing with challenges brought by state and federal funding cuts.
Incumbent Ron Krehbiel, R-Burrton, was re-elected to Harvey County Commission District No. 3. He defeated Leo Stahly, D-Newton.
Krehbiel said the central issue within the campaign was the future of Harvey County, and how changing state and federal funding levels will play into the long-term financial health of the county.
"To me, it was about common sense and moving forward," Krehbiel said. "We need to try and keep the mill levy and taxes down. We need to hang in there for the future. ... We need to live with the cuts the state and federal governments are doing."