Advanced voting for the Aug. 7 primary election has started at the Harvey County courthouse.
Contested are three Republican races.  
In senate 31, conservative challenger Gary Mason (R-Valley Center) is taking on incumbent moderate Carolyn McGinn (R-Sedgwick). For county commission seat No. 2, Randy Hague (R-Newton) is challenging incumbent Marge Roberson (R-Newton).
For the county commission seat No. 3, William Ewert (R-Halstead) and Lenny Wild (R-Newton) are challenging incumbent Ron Krehbiel (R-Burrton).