It’s been a long time since the Newton High School wrestling team had a day like it had Friday in the Class 5A state tournament at Hartman Arena.

It’s been a long time since the Newton High School wrestling team had a day like it had Friday in the Class 5A state tournament at Hartman Arena.

The Railers put two wrestlers into the championships and eight are still alive in competition.

The Railers are sixth in the team standings. Andover Central leads with 89.5 points, followed by Lansing at 87, Arkansas City at 75, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel at 73 and Newton at 68.

Sophomore Quinton Harrison and junior Miles Johns both reached the championship finals.

Harrison wasted little time in his opening match at 112 pounds, pinning Qualen Camerillo of Wichita West in 42 seconds.

In the quarterfinals, Harrison had to do a little more work against Jonathan Boucher of Topeka Seaman. After having most of his shots blocked in the first period, Harrison scored a late takedown, adding another takedown with back points in the second period. Harrison scored at will in the third period, finally posting the pin with 18 seconds remaining in the match.

In the semifinals, Harrison met Kaden Kretzer of McPherson, winning a 17-8 major decision.

Harrison, 31-4, will meet 33-4 Chris Burley of Great Bend in the finals.

At 135 pounds, junior Miles Johns opened up with a 9-1 major decision over Christian Service of Mill Valley. In the quarterfinals, Miles Johns took on Antoine Bannister of Wichita West with Johns taking a 2-1 lead at the end of the first period.

Johns scored a reversal within seconds of the start of the second period but gave up a penalty point for locked hands and a reversal. Johns then scored an escape and Bannister was hit with a penalty point for stalling to lead 6-4 at the end of the second period. Getting the bottom position after injury time for Bannister, Johns added an escape late in the third period for a 7-4 win.

In the semifinals, Johns met Brandon Charbonneau of Emporia, winning a 5-2 decision.

Johns, 36-4, will meet 39-5 Andrew Seybold of Pittsburg in the championship match.

Junior Hugh McConnell opened at 189 pounds with a 4-2 decision over Jacob Currence of Blue Valley Southwest. In the quarterfinals, McConnell faced Austin Winner of Pittsburg. McConnell took a 2-1 lead after the first period. In the second period, McConnell scored a quick takedown and got the pin in 3:52.

In the semifinals, McConnell was edged by Armondo Alcantara of Kansas City Turner 3-2. McConnell, 27-7, will compete in the consolation semifinals today.

Sophomore Anthony Monarez opened his day at 125 pounds with a seeding upset of Kellen Rios of Blue Valley, winning by fall in the second period.

In the quarterfinals, Monarez was pinned in 91 seconds by Jake Gentzler of Andover Central. Monarez, 12-13, begins action today in the second consolation round

At 130 pounds, sophomore Garrett McEachern won by injury default in the first round. In the quarterfinals, McEachen fell behind 4-1 to Mario Corado of Pittsburg but scored a second-period takedown to get within a point.

Corado scored an escape and a takedown in the third period before winning the fall with 14 seconds remaining in the match. McEachern, 21-11, competes today in the second consoaltion round.

At 171 pounds, sophomore Dillon Archer opened with a 10-2 major decision over Parker Cameron of Arkansas City. In the quarterfinals, Archer scored the first takedown against Nick Meck of Shawnee Heights but gave up an escape and a takedown late in the first period. Meck added an escape and a takedown in the second period and held on for the 4-2 decision. Archer, 31-11, competes today in the second consolation round.

At 103 pounds, freshman Elijah Johns made his state debut against Luke Henes of St. Thomas Aquinas late in the first period. In the first consolation round, Johns scored a second-period pin over Bri Lockhart of Shawnee Heights. Johns, 5-7, advances to the second consolation round.

At 119 pounds, junior Rigo Magana lost in the first round to top-seeded Tyler Dryden of Kapaun-Mt. Carmel 4-2. In the first consolation round, Magana scored a third-period pin over D.J. Hammomd of Shawnee Heights. Magana, 15-14, advances to the second consolation round.

Elijah Johns, Magana, Monarez, McEachern and Archer each need two wins for a medal.

Sophomore heavyweight Garrett Lee was pinned in the second round against Derek Holly of Shawnee Heights. In the first consolation round, Lee was pinned in the third period by Matt Henrickson of Andover Central. Lee ends the season 21-16.

The tournament continues at 9 a.m. today.

Newton results

103 — Elijah Johns: 1. L Luke Henes, St. Thomas Aquinas 1:40. C1. W Bri Lockhart, Shawnee Heights 2:18.

112 — Quinton Harrison: 1. W Qualen Camerillo, Wichita West :42; QF. W Jonathan Boucher, Topeka Seaman 5:42; SF. W Kaden Kretzer, McPherson 17-8 maj.dec..

119 — Rigo Magana: 1. L Tyler Dryden, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel 4-2. C1. W D.J. Hammond, Shawnee Heights 3:29.

125 — Anthony Monarez: 1. W Kellen Rios, Blue Valley 3:08; QF. L Jake Gentzler, Andover Central 1:31.

130 — Garrett McEachern: 1. W Austin Richards, Shawnee Heights inj.def.; QF. L Mario Corado, Pittsburg 5:46.

135 — Miles Johns: 1. W Christoan Service, Mill Valley 9-1 maj.dec.; QF. W Antoine Bannister, Wichita West 7-4; SF. W Brandon Charbonneau, Emporia 5-2.

171 — Dillon Archer: 1. W Parker Cameron, Arkansas City 10-2; QF. L Nick Meck, Shawnee Heights 6-2.

189 — Hugh McConnell: 1. W Jacob Currence, Blue Valley Southwest 4-2; QF. W Austin Winner, Pittsburg 3:52.

HWT — Garrett Lee: 1. L Derek Holly, Shawnee Heights 2:33. C1. L Matt Henrickson, Andover Central 4:03.

Team scores — Shawnee Heights 93.5, Andover Central 89.5, Lansing 87, Arkansas City 75, Kapaun Mount Carmel 73, Newton 68, KC Turner 60.5, Gardner-Edgerton 59.5, Pittsburg 54, Hays 53, Great Bend 50.5, Topeka Seaman 49, St. Thomas Aquinas 46, BV Southwest 40, Emporia 38, Salina South 35.5, Blue Valley 32, McPherson 30.5, Liberal 30, Valley Center 21, Mill Valley 20, Bishop Carroll 7, Wichita West 6, Andover 6, Bishop Miege 5, Salina Central 4, KC Washington 1.